Send a Book to Mali

Send a Book to Mali

This year, I collected many English books and was poised to drive them to Mali, West Africa. Sadly there has been an upsurge in instability in both the Western Sahara and Mauritania over past weeks, both countries which I would have driven through, and it’s just too worrying for my family to attempt it. But I am determined to get books out there, which is why I’m asking for help from my friends and readers.

So my problem – how do I get 1000 paperback books to Mali by early December in time to create a temporary sculpture? Then donate them completely unharmed and readable to the local incredibly impoverished library in Ségou.

This is how……

I am asking for a thousand people to each send one old (or new) children’s book, direct to the Gallery, which won’t cost much more than a fiver in total, and probably less.

Happily this appeal is getting a positive and heart warming response.

How can you help?

Please join in, mail an old book (or new) and send the following links to as many of your friends as possible, who may like to send a book to Mali.

http://wrenmillerart.co.uk/index.php/rnd/books/sendbook

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Send-a-Book-to-Mali/108292125907574

The appeal can also be followed via Twitter, on wrenmillerart

Thank you so very much.

The address to send books to in Mali has been temporarily suspended, while Timbuktu is under control of Islamic Militants and Tuareg rebels. We will be installing a new safe PO. Box in a different region of Mali within a few weeks.

 

 

0 Responses to “Send a Book to Mali”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment