Mali Ba

Its wonderful to be back in Mali. I’ve been spending time organising myself around dual working in crazy Bamako the capital city and tranquil Ségou, the town of artists. I’ve started to collate all the books that have been mailed and delivered to Ségou too and have started making new works and installations to be shown alongside the books sculptures in my show at Gallery Maison Carpe Diem in Ségou.

As a New Year treat I’m visiting the Festival of the Desert in Timbuktu, with my artist friend Anna. Our travel there begins tomorrow. Despite rumours of potential safety problems there, I have been feeling more assured now that ATT, (Amadou Toumani Traore) the President of Mali himself has decided to visit the Festival.

I will be travelling with Guy Lankester of From Here 2 Timbuktu, (who kindly brought five bags of books for me when he drove here overland from the UK) and Aly Dicko, who will put me up at his accommodation in Timbuktu before and after the Festival. During the Thursday-Sunday festival we will all be sleeping in a Tuareg Tent, which has been transported from the north of Mali, to the Festival site. If I get a chance I will update this blog from the festival itself…. we will see if WiFi has reached the edge of Timbuktu!

1 Response to “Mali Ba”


  1. 1 richtung May 12, 2013 at 8:58 am

    Wonderful work! That is the kind of info that are supposed to be shared around the internet.
    Shame on Google for now not positioning this publish higher!

    Come on over and visit my website . Thank you
    =)


Leave a comment